Skip to content

Green light in the sky, the mystery continues

April 17, 2008

So last night I strolled outside again in the evening whilst doing the laundry and what did I see but the green light again. The light appeared in the same location as the night before and came an went with the more significant cloudcover last night. The odd thing is that when there were bright, low lying clouds the green light wasn’t visible, leading me to suppose that either :

  1. whoever is projecting this light turns it off when the clouds come over (this supports by adaptive optics telescope theory)
  2. the light is visible not because it is hitting clouds but because it is lighting up other clouds or dust higher up in the atmosphere
  3. I could see the light because it was behind an inverted mountains of clouds nearer to me than where it was reflecting.

Anyways, here is another picture, even worse than the first.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. francois permalink
    December 4, 2008 11:42 pm

    Hi there,

    I saw the same kind of green light you are talking about yesterday…and I’m from Sherbrooke in the province of Quebec. Looking on the internet for information, i found blogs from nevada, singapour, california and vancouver, mentionning strange green lights appereances.

    I’m really getting the shivers

  2. Griefer permalink
    March 19, 2009 2:16 am

    I was working in tennesse in 2007. late one night while driving down the interstate i noticed a bright green light begin to fall straight down from a very high altitude. not sure what it was but i was watching something on History channel and it seems like many people are starting to see this same thing.

  3. Nathan Harr permalink
    November 11, 2009 8:27 pm

    Not sure if I experienced the same thing, but I was just on my late night walk with my dog and I saw two green light flashes strike low across the sky. Both fell perpendicular to each other. It was the oddest thing. It seemed like they should have been fireworks, but they came from opposite directions and lasted different amounts of time before fading away. I did notice that the larger’s trail seemed to remain in the sky after about 5 seconds. (Like dust or smoke)

    Very strange. I was just amazed by the first and walking home to tell my parents when I glanced back again to see the other briefly flash perpendicular to the first.

    It was very beautiful, and I want to say it was something from space, but it was so low. My first instinct was to Google Space Shuttle crashes. Apparently, when the Columbia was destroyed, the falling pieces looked similar to what I experienced.

  4. R.GARCIA permalink
    January 17, 2010 12:51 am

    HEY, I JUST SAW IT OVER MY HOUSE RIGHT NOW AT 11:35PM of 01/16/10. ME AND 1 OF MY FRIENDS SAW IT,IT SATRTED OFF AT A DISTANCE THEN IT SLOWLY CAME OVER OUR HEADS AND YES THEIR WE’RE CLOUDS IT LOOKED LIKE A LAZER BUT THEN MY FRIEND AND I NOTICED THAT THE WAS EITHER A SATELITE OR A PLANE OF SOMSORT FLYING ABOVE THE GREEN LASER LIKE LIGHT BUT THEN THE PLANE OR SATELITE PARTED FORWARD AND THE THE GREEN LIGHT STAYED IN ONE PALCE TILL IT SLOWLY GOT TINY LIKE A FAR AWAY STAR U COULD BARELY SEE AND THEN IT JUST VANISHED. it happend here in Escondido,CA

    • Skyeball permalink
      August 3, 2010 12:36 pm

      I have seen this light a few times here in Atlantic Canada over the past few years, the last time was Sunday Aug 1. I did some research and came up with Lidar at DAL, “a laser radar, is one of the most useful scientific instruments for atmospheric measurements.”

      “The laser beam will be visible at night and will look like a thin green beam of light,….The beam will be four centimetres across and will travel to the top of the atmosphere and beyond. It will be directed straight up and will be visible at night from a least several hundred metres away. The beam of light is perfectly safe to view.”

      Hope this helps as I’m sure there are numerous labs across North America

      • August 3, 2010 1:04 pm

        Skyball, yes I came to the same conclusion about the original one I saw here in Vancouver. They do weather scans from time to time but it can be quite dramatic with the right kind of clouds in the way. And there clearly is a lot of people interested or seeing things like this, this post is one of the most consistently hit pages on my site. No matter what else is going on I get two or three a day finding this one every day.

        Thanks for the info.

  5. amber permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:45 pm

    I saw somthing somewhat similar this year, It was more like a giant green fireball, had to be about the size of a car, falling quickly from the sky and immediatly after Sirens went off in every direction and they headed towards the landing site. it was the most intense thing i have ever seen. I was with three friends and two of them also saw it.. I have searched pictures of meteors and it wasnt like that… It was different. Like i just kinda knew it wasnt normal or somthing that could be explained… I am hoping someone else saw it and possibly has a picture. I really would love to see it again.. I saw this in Georgetown, Texas. It was around summer time.

  6. August 25, 2013 3:01 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about wellness. Regards

Leave a Reply

